Everyday Chocolate Chip Cookies

For my first post, I decided to use the recipe for the food that I’ve baked the most, and that is my absolute favorite.  Maybe I shouldn’t use my best recipe as my first one, but I simply couldn’t help it.  Although every time I make these cookies, they seem to turn out a bit differently, I do have a basic recipe that I use, which is based off the original Toll House recipe (a.k.a the one that’s printed on the back of most chocolate chip bags).  I’ve made a few changes and additions over the years to make a chewy cookie that tastes great fresh out of the oven and even after they’ve cooled off.

IMG_2423

The trick to what makes these cookies so special is a combination of high quality chocolate, walnuts, and a little bit of coarse salt sprinkled on top of each one.

IMG_2421

Note: If you choose to bake these cookies, please go ahead and eat some of the dough before you pop them in the oven, but keep in mind that the cookies will taste great after they’ve been cooked as well. 

IMG_2417

I made these after my first day of class because I was craving something that tastes like home, because the weather has cooled off in Claremont a little, and because I figured I could bring some to my new neighbors so they could get a sweet impression of the five college students who just moved into the house next to them. Update: I did not bring them to the neighbors but kept them all. Please do not tell on me. 

IMG_2428

So please, enjoy these cookies, whether you follow the recipe yourself or if you know me personally and wait for me to bake you a batch.

IMG_2416IMG_2413

Here’s the recipe: 

Makes 3-4 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c light brown sugar
  • 3/4 c granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) of unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/4 cups unbleached white flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup raw walnuts, coarsely chopped
  • 3 cups semisweet chocolate chips (1 1/2 bags of the highest quality chocolate you are able and/or willing to pay for)
  • Sea salt, kosher salt, or table salt for sprinkling on top of the cookies

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  While butter is softening, either in a microwave, by sitting near the oven, or from extreme desert temperatures, combine flour, baking soda, and salt into a medium-sized mixing bowl and stir to combine.  Set aside.  Then, with a wooden spoon or an electric mixer, beat the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar together until they are smooth, creamy, and light.  Add the vanilla extract (feel free to pour in a little more if you’re feeling indulgent) and the eggs.  Beat the eggs and vanilla into the mixture until they are well incorporated.  Then, gradually add the flour mixture into the liquidy mixture, stirring gently.  Be careful not to stir more than is necessary. Then add the chocolate chips and walnuts.  Once they are evenly dispersed, drop pieces of dough (around 1 1/2tbsp) onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Sprinkle each piece with a tiny pinch of salt.  Bake cookies for 9 to 11 minutes.  I recommend taking them out of the oven when they have some golden brown coloring on the outside, and a stable center.  Allow cookies to cool on a baking sheet (or a paper bag if you don’t have one).  Eat while them hot, cold, as an ice cream sandwich, or however you like.  Store in a sealed container for up to four days. 

IMG_2424

Leave a Reply

