Nutella Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Ever since I was a kid and participated in making fabulous vanilla ice cream at a family gathering with a hand crank ice cream maker, I’ve dreamt of someday making some all by myself…

IMG_2461

While I was shopping for totally practical items for my new home, I came across a $20 ice cream maker at an estate sale. I bought it. Little did I know, this luxury purchase turned out to be pretty darn practical (it turns out that ice cream is a necessity in my life.  It’s a great dessert for this desert climate).

IMG_2456

I decided to use Nutella in the recipe, which was a hit.  This ice cream is so good.  It is creamy and rich and makes me feel happy.

IMG_2453

Chocolate chips on Elana’s Ohio cutting board

Here’s the recipe: 

Makes 1 quart 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole milk (treat yo’self and actually buy whole milk)
  • 2 cups whipping cream or heavy whipping cream 
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 8 tablespoons Nutella (plus more for topping and eating right out of the jar)
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, chopped or other dark chocolate, chopped or mini chocolate chips

Directions: 

Use a whisk or an electric mixer to whip the cream for about 2 minutes until it’s nice and frothy.  Add the sugar, milk, Nutella, salt, and vanilla extract to the whipping cream and whisk to combine.

Follow manufacturers instructions for your ice cream maker (mine took 20-25 mins in an electric ice cream maker)

Freeze for around 2-4 hours for a more firm texture, but feel free to eat some right after it comes out of the ice cream maker as well.

Serve with nuts, Nutella, whipped cream, bananas etc.

IMG_2445

Leave a Reply

