Uncategorized

Lazy Vegan French Toast (4 ingredients!)

Dear Diary,

Just a few minutes ago, on the afternoon of November 3rd, 2015, in a vague effort to procrastinate on schoolwork, I decided to whip up some pumpkin pancakes.  They were terrible.  Maybe it’s because I didn’t use a single measuring cup or spoon and made some substitutions to the original recipe, or maybe today is just not my day to make edible pancakes.  They were so bad that I had to throw them out after one bite :(.  I found myself with some syrup already poured onto a plate, and a hunger for something sweet, warm, and breakfasty.  I decided to take a risk and improvise a recipe for vegan french toast.  Somehow, it was amazing.  So simple and so good.  I have to say, it was as good as the kind my mom makes, sorry Mom.  I don’t know how that happened but I’m sure glad it did.

XOXO,

Liz

Oh hey there internet people! I thought I’d share some of my inner monologue with you.  That’s all a true story, by the way.  I’m posting this “recipe” for vegan french toast, but feel free to experiment with other variations.  Do you have a favorite french toast recipe?

Here’s an outline of how my afternoon french toast experience came to be:

Lazy Vegan French Toast 

Ingredients: 

  • Almond milk
    • I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk and it worked well.  I’d guess that if you use plain almond milk you should add a dash of vanilla.  I don’t know if other kinds of milk would work, as they don’t have the same thickness as almond milk.
  • Bread 
    • I recommend french or sourdough for their flavor, but hey, feel free to experiment.
  • Pumpkin Pie Spice 
    • Okay maybe that’s not something that most people have in their cupboards, but cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves if you have them would work wonderfully as well.
  • Pretend (Vegan) Butter 
    • I used Earth Balance, which is very buttery and delicious, to tell the truth.

Directions: 

Pour almond milk and spices into a shallow dish.  I recommend that you use about 1/4 cup of milk per slice of bread.  Whisk the mixture together.  Add a slice of bread to the mixture and make sure it is fully submerged.  Make sure to soak it for at least a minute on each side.  Heat a frying pan and add some butter.  Swirl the butter around, add the soaked bread, and cook about for 2-4 minutes on each side, flipping it as many times as you want to.  Be careful because the bread may fall apart, but if your heat is high enough (medium heat), it should maintain its general shape.

Now, put the toast on a plate, pour some maple syrup on it along with whatever other weird stuff you like to put on your french toast.  Please eat the toast immediately and take an extra moment to enjoy it.  Thank you.

Notes:

  • I ate my food instead of taking pictures of it today.
  •  Of course I’m not a french toast expert, but this batch really took me by surprise with how amazing it was.  Please experiment in any way you see fit and send me feedback.
  •  If you’d like to have a crack at the pumpkin pancake recipe, you can find it here: http://www.loveandlemons.com/2014/10/24/gluten-free-pumpkin-pancakes/.  There are amazing recipes on this site and I really recommend that you try some others as well, but I just had some bad luck with this one.
Leave a Reply

